Author Sternbergh Comments on Ernest Hemingway

The comments from Author Adam Sternbergh, a Toronto-born journalist who lives in Brooklyn, N.Y., published his debut novel, Shovel Ready, a sci-fi/noir hybrid set in a near-future New York that has seen better days; its sequel, Near Enemy, will arrive in bookstores this month. I thought his comments about which books has he reread the most were very interesting (from the website The Globe and Mail):

Which books have you reread most in your life?

Ernest Hemingway, Mary HemingwayConfession: I’m a slow reader.  And I always feel shamelessly under-read. I could fill this page with the names of essential authors I still haven’t gotten around to, and those are just the ones I want to read, not the ones I feel I should read. One book I’ve read multiple times, and will read multiple times in the future, is For Whom the Bell Tolls by you-know-who. It’s more fashionable now to dislike (or, worse, dismiss) Ernest Hemingway than to like him, and even though this book was rapturously reviewed at the time, it isn’t now popularly considered to be his best. But this novel checks all my boxes. When it was published in 1940 (that decade again!), a critic at The New Yorker wrote, “I do not much care whether or not this is a ‘great’ book. I feel that it is what Hemingway wanted it to be: a true book.”

3 thoughts on “Author Sternbergh Comments on Ernest Hemingway

Leave a Reply

